This short explains the 4Cs of Diamonds – cut, color, clarity, and carat weight –

This short description reveals the four key elements that impact the quality and structure of a diamond, and ultimately determine its value.

They are called the “4 C’s”: Carat, Color, Clarity, Cut.

these characteristics are the most important to understand when making a diamond purchase.

Diamond Color

The color of a diamond is evaluated on a color scale from D (colorless or exceptional white) to Z (light yellow). The whiter a diamond, the rarer it is. There are also so-called colored diamonds (yellow, pink, blue, red, orange…). These diamonds are not part of this classification.

Diamond Carat

The carat is the unit of measurement of a diamond’s weight. One carat corresponds to 0.20 grams. The origin of this measurement is probably the carob seedwhich has been used as a measurement unit since Antiquity. The diamond industry utilizes electronic balances now to weigh the diamonds.

Diamond Clarity

The clarity of a diamond is determined by the number and size of its inclusions and their position. The clarity scale features grades ranging from IF (no inclusions when magnified 10x) to P3 (many inclusions visible to the naked eye).

Diamond Cut

The cut of a diamond reveals its beauty. In other words, compliance with cutting criteria ensures the diamond optimum brilliance regardless of its shape. The cut criteria are not related to size but to proportions, finish, and polish. If the diamond has an excellent cut, it will reflect light from one facet to the other and benefit from optimal brilliance.

Discover our diamonds